I don't know what to do

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I don't know what to do

Hello. I'm sorry if this whole message is kind of hard to understand or anything, I've never done anything like this before. Here's the situation... Yesterday, was my prom. I am currently 17, and will be turning 18 in four months. My boyfriend and my family do not get along. My mother had said something to us about being late for pictures and that being the reason we couldn't take them, which is wrong because there was a wedding going on at the place so we couldn't have take them anyway. Regardless, my boyfriend finally said something back to her. He had never done this before. If it wasn't for me, there would have been a fight between my mother and him. He does understand that his comment was rude and uncalled for, and I've told my mother this, yet she refuses to admit hers was too.

Fast forward to today... My mother is basically begging me to break up with him. She claims that he doesn't treat me right, and she says that I should love her and care about her more than him. I obviously cried and had a panic attack about this, and she took that as me choosing him over her. She said that she won't force me into breaking up with him, however, she will never allow me to see him again. I know I'm young, but I do know what love is. My boyfriend and I have been through a lot together, and we are in love. He's basically asked me to marry him. So, to put it shortly, we're pretty serious.

His family and I get along wonderfully!! They're super nice and we all love each other! Now.. I don't know what to do. My mother had emotionally abused me throughout my life, but.. Besides her, I love my family. If I ran away, I wouldn't get to see my step-dad, my real dad, my grandparents, my sister, anybody... I'm scared of leaving them behind... But, I want to be able to see him and be with him, and be happy...

What should I do?

Re: I don't know what to do