Moving out/running away?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Moving out/running away?

Hi, I've wanted to move out for a while now and have thought about it quite a bit. I had planned on going to college out of state once I graduated but those plans never fell through. I turned 17 in May and graduated high school as well. I do have a job and could get another job if needed quite easily. I do plan on attending college, but don't want to live with my parents anymore. My dad recently passed away so living with him isn't an option. I've always lived with my mother and her husband, but I have never gotten along with my stepdad. We recently moved back and things are getting really bad again. My mom is giving me more freedom but the moment my stepdad knows about it, he puts me down and "grounds" me for ridiculous things. I want to move out and could live with my boyfriend if needed, or my sister who lives in the same town. I just want to know the legal aspects of it? I don't want to get emancipated because I love my mom and don't want to cut myself off from her completely, but I don't want to live under their roof anymore. Would it be illegal if I stayed the night with my boyfriend or left for less than 24 hours without telling them? I am more than capable of paying for my own clothes, food, and house if needed. What should/can I do?

Re: Moving out/running away?

Hi there,