15, want to leave

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 15, want to leave

Recently me and my parents have been fighting. I have been neglected for most my my life. Whenever I am recognized I am either given work, or I am being blamed for everything. I want to leave and go elsewhere. Am I allowed to do this legally? And if I have a place to go, can they do anything once I am there? I am frustrated with them and just want to leave this toxic environment as I am a developer and cant focus without thinking about all this, and being blamed for everything.

Thank you for telling us your story and reaching out. It can be difficult telling others what has happened to you and you have shown great strength by doing so. It can be frustrating feeling like you are being blamed for everything and having no one on your side. You should not have to feel like that. If you are being neglected and if you haven’t already, you could consider reporting the abuse you’ve been experiencing. If you want more information about abuse reporting or if you want to file a report, you could call Child Help at 1-800-422-4453.

We’re not legal experts here at NRS. Generally it’s not illegal to leave home, but your parents could file a runaway report, the police could get involved, and they could bring you home. The people you’re staying with could potentially get in trouble for having you stay there without your parents’ consent which is called “harboring.” You could consider calling your local nonemergency police department to ask about their policies. We also have legal aid resources here if you have specific questions about the laws in your state.