Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 18 yrs and planning on leaving

hey there, I just turned 18 this year and I want to move out. I graduated highschool and I'm making money by doing online art commissions. I've got everything planned out and I'm going to go down to my boyfriends house for the rest of summer- at least until college starts. We've been dating for over a year so I guess it'll be okay (I was 16 when we met, he was 15. Now I'm 18 and he's about to turn 17 in a month). Anyways, though things at home has eased up, I don't want to stick around. My parent has been emotionally, mentally, and sometimes physically abusive to me for God knows how long. They've been decent this year, but I've had enough of it. I don't want their kindness, I don't want to be here, and I sure as hell don't want to be around them any longer. I still hold resentment towards them for everything they've done to me. I just find it unforgivable, and I don't want them in my life no matter how nice they are right now. I'm just done.

So. Would it be okay if I were to leave for my boyfriends without saying a word?? Or would the police get involved?

NRS203: Hello,

Thanks so much for reaching out! Nobody deserves to be abused, and your decision to leave is totally understandable, even if things have been less bad recently. It’s also clear that you’ve put a lot of thought into this decision, which is great. We’re not legal experts, but we’re happy to provide some general information.