Moving out at 17 in Texas

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Moving out at 17 in Texas

I've been having a lot of family issues and its pushing me to the limit... I love my parents don't get me wrong I just... I'd rather be with my sister... So is it legal for me to move out at 17 and move in with my sister? I'm still a student in high school (senior) and have a job...

Moving out at 17 in Texas

Hello there,

Thank you for contacting us here at the National Runaway Safeline (NRS). It seems you may be feeling overwhelmed with things at home with your parents and you are wanting to move out. It sounds like the tension at home is becoming too much and you feel it is best if you live with your sister. We are sorry you feel like there is a lot of pressure and tension making home life uncomfortable for you. We are glad you reached out to explore some concerns you are having.

We are not legal experts, but because you are 17, you are required to live under the care of your parents/guardians unless they agreed to let you live with your sister and have her care for you. Once you reach the age of majority which tends to be 18 in most states, then you can legally leave home because you would then be your own legal guardian. It is often best to reach out to local non-emergency police to obtain information on rights at 17 and age of majority. If you would like to talk more about what you are going through as well as explore some ways to open communication with your parents, we are here to help you in any way we can. Please reach out by phone or chat.

We look forward to your call or chat soon.

Best,

NRS
    Please remember you can reach us directly by calling our 24 hour hotline, 1-800-RUNAWAY (786-2929) or through our Live Chat.

National Runaway Safeline
    [email protected] (Crisis Email)
    1-800-RUNAWAY (24 Hour Hotline)

Tell us what you think about your experience!
    https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/YourOpinionMattersToUs

Comment