Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm Desperate to leave ASAP!

I'm a 15 year old sophomore in High School. I have a lot of problems with my mom and its gotten to a point were I can't stand being in my house anymore. My mom constantly uses me to babysit my sisters, asks me sometimes to buy things cause "she doesn't have money", and is the type of mother who chooses a man over her kids. I've seen my mom in and out of relationships since I was 7 and there's always a new man. My mother and I don't have a relationship, like she chooses what her husband says over me any day. My moms husband isn't the safest to be around. He is a very bad influence and I can't stand him because he disrespects me and my mom let's him. I've had many family members tell me to move out of that house. The longer I stay, the crazier I feel. I live in Connecticut. I have a family member willing to shelter me and support me if I move out. I have a job with them and a place to call home that I love. My question is what can I do to move out at 16? What processes do I go through? How can that family member help? What if my mom won't let me go? I live a very unstable life and it comes down to the fact that I'm not happy here at all.

Re: I'm Desperate to leave ASAP!

Hi there,

We’re glad you reached out. It sounds like the situation with your mom is very difficult and it’s important that you feel safe at home.

We’re not legal experts, but we know that running away from home is not illegal. If you choose to leave home, it works best if you have permission from your mom to live wherever you decide to go. Getting her permission is important so any adults (18 years and older) that you go live with (even other family members) don’t get in legal trouble for “harboring a minor/ runaway”.