Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Moving out at 17 in Louisiana

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Moving out at 17 in Louisiana

    Hello, I turned 17 three months ago and I’m unhappy living at home. My father and step mother have rules that I do not agree with and I generally feel uncomfortable in my house. My grandmother (on my mother’s side) offered to let me move in and stay with her while I finish high school and college. Can my parents legally force me to go back home and would that sort of thing be put on my permanent record? I live in Louisiana. Thank you for any help given

  • #2
    Hi,

    Thanks for reaching out. We are not legal experts, but generally speaking you need to be 18 to leave home without your parents’ permission. If you leave before then, your parents would have the right to file a runaway report and if the police are able to locate you, they may return you home. That being said, sometimes police choose not to pursue 17-year-old runaways. For more information about your local police protocols, you might wanna call your local non-emergency police line to ask if they accept runaway reports for 17-year-olds. If you’re uncomfortable doing so, feel free to give us a call and we can ask your police for you. In any case, this sort of thing does not stay on your permanent record. Running away is not a "crime," necessarily; rather, it's something you can't do because of your age. Once you are a legal adult, running away should not follow you on any sort of permanent record. Another option you might consider is asking your grandmother to step in and talk to your parents about the situation. She may be able to convince them that your staying with her is a good option. From there, you may be able to come to some sort of agreement.

    Thank you again for reaching out. We hope this was helpful and we encourage you to reach out by phone if you need additional resources or need help figuring out your options. Our number is 1-800-786-2929 and our lines are always open. If you have a moment, we'd appreciate your feedback of our crisis services at the following link:

    https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/we_care_what_you_think

    Stay safe!
    Please remember you can reach us directly by calling our 24 hour hotline, 1-800-RUNAWAY (786-2929) or through our Live Chat.

    National Runaway Safeline
    [email protected] (Crisis Email)
    1-800-RUNAWAY (24 Hour Hotline)

    Tell us what you think about your experience!
    https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/YourOpinionMattersToUs

    Comment


    • #3
      How old does a girl have to be to move out parents house in Louisiana??

      Comment


      • ccsmod9
        ccsmod9 commented
        Editing a comment
        Hi there,
        Thank you for writing to us here at National Runaway Safeline (NRS). We understand it takes great courage to reach out, and we appreciate you sharing a little bit about what’s going on. It seems there is a lot that you are faced with right now and you’re feeling like leaving is one of your only options. It seems you want to know some information on runaway laws.
        While we are not experts on the law, 18 is generally the age that an individual may leave home without parent permission. If you are under 18 and leave home, your parent/guardian may file you as a runaway and you may be returned home. Also, those you stay with may run the risk of being charged with harboring a runaway. For more specifics on the law, the local non-emergency police or legal aid may better answer legal questions.
        We are here as support to help through this challenging time. We can best help by phone or chat as NRS is unable to respond more than twice by email to assist you. If you would like to talk more in detail please call or chat soon.
        Our contact information is 1-800-RUNAWAY (786-2929); www.1800runaway.org (click on the chat button).
        If you are at risk of any danger or feeling unsafe, we encourage you to reach out to 911 or seek emergency assistance immediately.
        Be safe,
        NRS

    • #4
      So I have a friend that is about to turn 17 in May. He wants to live with his aunt and uncle. However, his mother and his father put a restraining order against them. I was wondering if he got made a contract saying “he can move out” (in general) and had both of his parents sign it with three witnesses also signing it. Would this be good enough for him saying that he could move out at 17 in Louisiana? I was also wondering if his aunt Uncle took him in, would they be able to pay for his insurances even though they would not be his legal guardians? Or would he have to do it though his name, or can you even do that at 17?

      Comment


      • ccsmod9
        ccsmod9 commented
        Editing a comment
        Hi there,
        Thank you for writing to us here at National Runaway Safeline (NRS). We understand it takes great courage to reach out, and we appreciate you sharing a little bit about what’s going on. We want you to know that we are here as support to help you as your friend is going through this challenging time. From what you describe you can go through that as long as his parents give their consent. If not then he unfortunately can not go. If he is being abused he can always reach out to CPS or Childhelp (800-422-4453) which are organizations that can help with the abuse reporting process. We can best help by phone or chat as NRS is unable to respond more than twice by email or bulletin for assistance. If you would like to talk more in detail and share more about how we can help specifically, please call or chat soon.
        Our contact information is 1-800-RUNAWAY (786-2929); www.1800runaway.org (click on the chat button).
        If you are at risk of any danger or feeling unsafe, we encourage you to reach out to 911 or seek emergency assistance immediately.
        We hope to hear from you soon.
        Be safe, NRS

    • #5
      My daughter is disrespectful and talks back and puts holes in walls. Can I file charges to put her in jail and them find her a place to go? She is 17 and called the police twice on me because I tried to put her out because of her behavior. She isn't in school currently she dropped out. I have to pay for the doors if she doesn't and they are $150 a piece. I'd there anything I can do to get her out early?

      Comment


      • ccsmod1
        ccsmod1 commented
        Editing a comment
        Hey there,

        Thanks so much for contacting us, we know it takes a lot of courage to reach out and share your story with others. It sounds like you are having a stressful time with your daughter - it must be really overwhelming. We aren't legal experts, but it should be noted that in some states putting your daughter out could be considered neglect. It may be beneficial to reach out to your local Department of Children and Family Services office to see what assistance/programs may be available to you. Assuming that you are in Louisiana, you can locate your local office by going to http://www.dss.state.la.us/#undefined. The state of Louisiana also has a program known as FINS (Family in Need of Supervision) which is designed for "ungovernable children". You can file a petition for FINS, or find out more information about the program by going to your local Office of Community Services.

        Best of Luck,
        NRS

    • #6
      I’m turning 17 in November, and I want to move out from my parents. Can they file a case against me? Or is there any legal way of leaving them?

      Comment


      • ccsmod3
        ccsmod3 commented
        Editing a comment
        18 years old is generally the age that an individual may leave home without permission from their parent or legal guardian. We are not legal experts here but we can speak in general terms. If you are under 18 and leave home without permission, your parent/guardian may file a runaway report with the police. What actions the police take once you are filed as a runaway can vary a lot from state to state and even city to city so we cannot predict exactly what would happen in your case. Generally speaking, if you encounter a police officer while reported as a runaway, you will likely be returned home. However, in that case there may be services (family counseling, etc.) available to you as a youth in crisis/runaway but again, police procedures related to offering those services can be different based on your location or the details of your situation. Another thing to consider is that while running away is not a crime, a legal adult who allows you to stay with them may be putting themselves at risk for being charged with harboring a runaway. One way to find out the laws in your area is to call your local police and ask what their policies are regarding runaway youth. Our contact information is 1-800-RUNAWAY (786-2929); www.1800runaway.org (click on the chat button).If you are at risk of any danger or feeling unsafe, we encourage you to reach out to 911 or seek emergency assistance immediately.We hope to hear from you soon.
        Be safe, NRS
    Previously entered content was automatically saved. Restore or Discard.
    Auto-Saved
    x
    Insert: Thumbnail Small Medium Large Fullsize Remove  
    x
    x
    Working...
    X