Running Away From Home 20 Years Old

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Running Away From Home 20 Years Old

I am currently a student at a four-year university. I have recently made the decision to cut ties with my parents due to emotional and verbal abuse. I am trying to make a plan to make a clean cut with them, and I would like advice or feedback on what else I would need to consider in my plan. If I mess up somehow, they will come to my door and harass me, and my situation will be aggravated even further. Here is what I am thinking:

1. Move to a new address that is still near the school to continue getting a degree. (Afford with financial aid)
    2. Change my phone number
    3. Call the police to notify them of my situation, and to ask them to make a statement that I am not missing but I do not want to disclose my whereabouts to my parents. I live in California and I'm not sure if it is legal for police to let them know my whereabouts.
    4. Call the school to ask them not to disclose my information to my parents. I'm not sure if this is already their privacy policy.
    5. We are a low-income family, and I have already filled out FAFSA for my last school year. I have some savings that I project will sustain me until I get my degree, and I am looking to work part-time when I am able, but due to clinical depression, I am unsure if I can juggle both superb academics and the energy to earn some income. My application for food stamps has been accepted, and I am hoping the money I would have been using for groceries will go towards medical costs (psychiatry, therapy), gas, and other necessities.
    6. I have medi-cal under my parents, but I also have school insurance. Would I be eligible for medi-cal on my own?