Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Been away from parents for 5 months, need help figuring things out.

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Been away from parents for 5 months, need help figuring things out.

Hello! I am a 17 year old college student living in California. When I graduated high school in May, my parents kicked me out of their house, leaving me with nothing. I luckily had a very close friend who attended my graduation and they brought me back to my home town (300 miles away) and I've moved in with them. I managed to enroll in college, and obtain a copy of my birth certificate. From here, I don't know what I can do. I do not have a copy of my social security card or any DMV approved proof of address documents so I cannot get a california state ID. I do not have any insurance for my health whatsoever. My only income is from freelance work I am doing online, and getting paid through PayPal. I cannot contact my parents at all, nor do I want to. But as of yet, with contacting local authorities for help, I've been told my only options are to contact my parents (which I can't) or just wait until I turn 18. That is looking like the only option I really have, though I'd love if you could give me any info that will help until then. My 18th birthday is in March of next year, and it seems SO far away. I don't know what I can do for the time being. Any help, advice, or resources you can point me to are so very appreciated.Thank you!

Hi there,

Thank you for reaching out to the National Runaway Safeline. It sounds like you’ve been going through a really tough time, but you’ve shown so much strength by working through your challenges, enrolling in school, and taking steps to do what’s best for you. It sounds like you have some positive supports in your life to help you get through too. We’re also here to help you and support you in any way we can.