Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Moving Out?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Moving Out?

    Hello there! I'm currently 14, turning 15 in September and I was curious as to how I would go about this. My parents tend to be emotionally abusive, occasionally physically though it's pretty rare for this to happen. I have been planning on moving out as soon as I turn 18 but I have a few minor setbacks. I would still be in my senior year when I turn 18 (In Florida I was considered a few days too young to enter the school system so I was forced to wait a year to start school), and that's close to the beginning of the year. I have a friend from Utah whom I met that actually wanted to go to the same college as me. (I want to attend MIT) We've come up with plans as sort of a joke, though not necessarily one as she knows of my situation. She's a grade ahead and about three months older than myself, which means she would graduate before me.

    I've come up with achievable goals for this and have a schedule planned out for this, but I want to know how hard it would be to handle the situation. As the city I want to move to would be Boston, I've decided that purchasing a bicycle would be the best option for transportation, as well as walking (obviously). I've looked at rent range and found that I could afford it if I worked enough hours. Minimum wage in Massachusetts is the highest in the United States at $11 an hour which has given me a lot of hope. (I was originally planning on being stuck with federal minimum wage at $8.75) If I had a roommate, the price for rental would drop by half, obviously. With this, I'd be attending high school for a school year and hours are generally seven to eight hours. I've put aside 6 hours for work, 8 hours for school, and the remaining time for myself like homework, shopping, gaming, sleeping, etc. If I were working at the minimum wage, I'd be cutting it close but I think I would be able to achieve it. I feel as if the one thing that might throw some people off would be the gaming. I've found that it's an excellent stress reliever for myself, especially if I've had a bad day, so I wouldn't say that it's necessarily bad. Most of the time I only play for about an hour or so on school nights, and the weekend is when I find that I can play more often. With that being said, I'd devote most of my time to handling more important things such as sleeping, exercising, doing homework, etc.

    I know this is kind of a jumble of information but if anyone could give me some pointers on living on my own, that would be great. How to handle taxes? How to apply for bank accounts, insurance and such? While I'm not necessarily going to be running away until I'm a legal adult, I want to be prepared. My parents are likely to try and find me but I'd rather that not happen. I have three years and a month or two to plan for this so any help is greatly appreciated. I know this may not be the right place to put it, but I've found useful information and seen that people have had other questions somewhat similar to this. I do apologize if this is in the wrong place.

    Thank you all so much!
Previously entered content was automatically saved. Restore or Discard.
Auto-Saved
x
Insert: Thumbnail Small Medium Large Fullsize Remove  
x
or Allowed Filetypes: jpg, jpeg, png, gif, webp
x
x
Working...
X