Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I'm 17 and i want to move in with my friend and his family with my parents permission

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm 17 and i want to move in with my friend and his family with my parents permission

I am 17 and i moved away from my high school and am currently out of the district, im a sophomore and would like to graduate from that high school my friend has offed for me to live with him and his family who live close to the high school i am gonna look for a job when i get down there i do have my own car to be able to get around and i have my parents permission to move in with them, am i even allowed to do that at 17 and how would i register for school with out a certificate of residency sense i am still under my parents but i live with someone else and what legal things would i have to fill out to be able to do this. also i live in Upstate New York

Hello,
    Thank you for taking the time to write to us here at the National Runaway Safeline. It sounds like It sounds like you have already moved out of district with your parents’ permission but have a few question s about getting yourself reenrolled in school. It is great that you have the support not only from your parents but from your friend who is willing to let you live with him and his family. You asked if you are allowed to live apart from your parents and enroll yourself into school. While we are not legal experts to our knowledge if your parents give you permission to live apart from them then you can. Asa far as being able to get yourself back into school in a new district this could be a really good question to ask to your Department of Education. They would be able to tell you what documents, if any that are needed to start this process.