Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

if i runaway can my mom call the cops?

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Reply: Post #480

    Thank you for contacting National Runaway Safeline (NRS). We at NRS are glad that you were brave enough to contact us and ask for help.
    You don’t deserve to be treated this way. It sounds like you were living in a difficult situation and leaving home can be quite scary, where you may need additional supports. Maybe you could reach out to other family members and friends for those supports.

    Your safety is our top priority and we do not want you to be unsafe, so if you feel like speaking with someone about the abuse, you could contact Child Help USA at (800) 422-4453 or www.childhelp.org/. Dealing with physical abuse is incredibly difficult and painful, and you do not have to face this alone.

    If you would like to talk more about this situation and be provided with shelter resources, please feel free to reach us directly by calling our 24 hour hotline, 1-800-RUNAWAY (786-2929) or through our Live Chat (if services appear available to use).

    Thank you again for contacting us.
    Please remember you can reach us directly by calling our 24 hour hotline, 1-800-RUNAWAY (786-2929) or through our Live Chat which is open every day from 4:30p to 11:30p CST and can be accessed here:

    National Runaway Safeline
    info@1800runaway.org (Crisis Email)
    1-800-RUNAWAY (24 Hour Hotline)
    Tell us what you think about your experience!
    https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/we_care_what_you_think

    Comment


    • If I'm 17 and I'm 18 in 1 month and my mom has gave me permission to live on my own for 6 months can she still call me in as a run away

      Comment


      • ccsmod7
        ccsmod7 commented
        Editing a comment
        Thank you for reaching out to us at NRS.

        It sounds like you’re wanting to leave home but want to make sure you won’t get in trouble for it, and it’s great that you’re thinking through these things. Different states sometimes have different laws, but generally you are able to live with someone other than your legal guardian so long as your legal guardian has given you permission to do so. If you’re afraid your mom might go back on her word, you could also see if your mom would be willing to put a statement in writing confirming that she is permitting you to live on your own. It might also be helpful to contact your police department to see how they would handle your situation.

        You are always welcome to call us at 1-800-RUNAWAY (786-2929) if you’d like to discuss your situation further and explore your options. It’s hard to go through all of this alone, and we’re happy to help.

        Best of luck to you!

        -NRS

    • I'm 15 and I recently moved to Texas with my mom after my dad got deported from Alabama. I had no choice and really didn't wanna come. I left my closest friends, and family. I hate it here I always get blamed for everything my sisters do the only thing to do here is clean. Is there any ways I can move back to Alabama without my moms permission at 16 I know I might not be able to but I just want all of this to dissapear.

      Comment


      • ccsmod16
        ccsmod16 commented
        Editing a comment
        Hello,

        Thank you, so much, for writing. Your situation sounds extremely difficult and it’s understandable to want what is happening now to disappear – it seems unimaginable to be uprooted from what you know and be put into a situation you hate.

        We would probably need a few more detail to better be able to discuss your options, but could speak in general terms. It seems that you could potentially move back to Alabama legally if there was someone there who would be able and willing to take custody/guardianship of you (of course you mom would need to be okay with this). If you left home without your mom’s permission, at 16, you would be considered a runaway and your mom would have the right to file a runaway report. Being a runaway is considered a status offense, so not a felony or misdemeanor or anything that would go on your record.

        Please know we are here to listen and here to help. Our mission is to make sure people are safe an off the street, so, if you have any questions, or would like to talk about your situation further, or would want resources to shelters please do not hesitate to reach out.

    • What happens if my brother slaps my ass non stop and I decide to run away. Please answer quickly

      Comment


      • Can I leave home if I'm 16 and turning 17 in 3 months legally

        Comment


        • ccsmod7
          ccsmod7 commented
          Editing a comment
          Hello there, thanks for reaching out today.

          Typically the legal age you can leave home without parental consent is 18. So if you leave any time before you turn 18, your parents can attempt to file a runaway report for you with your local police. Each police department had their own protocol. Generally, if your parents file a report for you and you are found by police, you would be returned home. The easiest way you can legal leave home at 16 or 17, is with your parent's permission.

          Sounds like there is something going on at home that is making you want to leave. We are here 24/7 to support you if you ever want to give us a call or you can also live chat us during chat hours. We can provide you with support, help brainstorm your options, and possibly provide you with helpful resources. We truly want to help you through this.

          Best of luck,

          NRS

      • Can I leave my parents house if I'm 16 and about to turn 17 in 3 months legally

        Comment


        • ccsmod7
          ccsmod7 commented
          Editing a comment
          Please see the #485 response:

          "Hello there, thanks for reaching out today.

          Typically the legal age you can leave home without parental consent is 18. So if you leave any time before you turn 18, your parents can attempt to file a runaway report for you with your local police. Each police department had their own protocol. Generally, if your parents file a report for you and you are found by police, you would be returned home. The easiest way you can legal leave home at 16 or 17, is with your parent's permission.

          Sounds like there is something going on at home that is making you want to leave. We are here 24/7 to support you if you ever want to give us a call or you can also live chat us during chat hours. We can provide you with support, help brainstorm your options, and possibly provide you with helpful resources. We truly want to help you through this.

          Best of luck,

          NRS"

      • Can I legally leave my parents home if I'm 16 about to turn 17 in 3 months

        Comment


        • ccsmod7
          ccsmod7 commented
          Editing a comment
          Please see the #485 response:

          "Hello there, thanks for reaching out today.

          Typically the legal age you can leave home without parental consent is 18. So if you leave any time before you turn 18, your parents can attempt to file a runaway report for you with your local police. Each police department had their own protocol. Generally, if your parents file a report for you and you are found by police, you would be returned home. The easiest way you can legal leave home at 16 or 17, is with your parent's permission.

          Sounds like there is something going on at home that is making you want to leave. We are here 24/7 to support you if you ever want to give us a call or you can also live chat us during chat hours. We can provide you with support, help brainstorm your options, and possibly provide you with helpful resources. We truly want to help you through this.

          Best of luck,

          NRS"
      Previously entered content was automatically saved. Restore or Discard.
      Auto-Saved
      x
      Insert: Thumbnail Small Medium Large Fullsize Remove  
      x
      x
      Working...
      X