No announcement yet.

Leaving Home

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Leaving Home

    Hi, I'm 20 years old and currently living with my mom. I do not have a job and currently full time college student. I am a transgender woman attempting transition but face push back from my mom about it. I can't take the arguing anymore and I want to move in with a friend from college. I don't have much money, my insurance is paid by my mom, and have little skills to live on my own, but I can't take it anymore.

  • #2

    Thanks so much for reaching out. It sounds like you’re in a very overwhelming situation without much support. That can be really painful. It’s great that you’re asking for help, though. That takes a lot of courage.

    As for moving in with a friend, at twenty, it doesn’t sound like anything is stopping you in a legal sense. But it does sound like you might face some challenges when it comes to your finances. If you would like some help brainstorming ideas, or would simply like to talk about anything at all, please don’t hesitate to call our crisis hotline at 1-800-787-2929. Someone is always here to listen and to help. If you’d rather not talk on the phone, you can try our chat service at the portal at

    Some other resources you might be interested in are the Trans Lifeline, which can connect you to additional services and community support (1-877-565-8860) and the LGBT National Hotline (1-888-843-4564). Through those or our own services, we hope you can find the help and support you need. Thanks again for reaching out and we hope to hear from you soon.

    Please remember you can reach us directly by calling our 24 hour hotline, 1-800-RUNAWAY (786-2929) or through our Live Chat.

    National Runaway Safeline
    [email protected] (Crisis Email)
    1-800-RUNAWAY (24 Hour Hotline)


    Previously entered content was automatically saved. Restore or Discard.
    Insert: Thumbnail Small Medium Large Fullsize Remove  
    or Allowed Filetypes: jpg, jpeg, png, gif, webp