Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I'm 18 and leaving, can my mom call the cops and report me missing?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • ccsmod1
    replied
    Hi there,

    Thank you for reaching out to us at the National Runaway Safeline. We are not legal experts, but at 18 you are considered a legal adult and would be able to leave home and your guardian without the police returning you home. She could possibly file a missing person report, but you can avoid that by leaving a note saying you're safe or by calling the police and telling them that you are not missing. If you want help going through this option or want someone to talk to, we are 24/7 at 1-800-786-2929.

    Good luck,

    NRS

    Leave a comment:


  • Guest's Avatar
    Guest replied
    Hello I’m 18 abd live in Massachusetts. and I’m in process to have my papers. Right now I live with my half sister who is my legal guardian. It’s been 3 years that I live with her. I’m tiref of pretending that I’m happy with her, she doesn’t treat me right. And today I made a decision to live the house. Can she call the cops on me because I don’t have my papers ?

    Leave a comment:


  • ccsmod1
    replied
    Hi there,

    Thank you for reaching out to us at the National Runaway Safeline. We're sorry to hear abut all that has been going on and want you to know that you deserve to feel safe and happy in your home. We are not legal experts, but at 18 you are considered a legal adult and can leave home. Your mom does not have the legal right to keep you home. You would be able to call the police and they could help escort you out if you are having a hard time leaving.

    If you want help finding programs for young adults that provide housing and often employment help and counseling, like transitional living programs and AmeriCorps, don't hesitate to give us a call at 1-800-786-2929.

    Best,

    NRS

    Leave a comment:


  • Guest's Avatar
    Guest replied
    Im 20 years old and have tried to leave home multiple times. Every time my mom finds me because she taps my phone and then forces me back home. This last time she has taken my phone, one I bought and paid for and have my own plan for that's completely separate from hers. She's locked me in the house and threatens me everytime I make an attempt to leave. She has friends in the legal system, lawyers, cops, judges, and etc. She threatens to get me taken into custody and put in rehab or a psych ward if I try to leave. She mentally and emotionally abuses me. She's even listed off the addresses of almost all of my friends when she had never been to their houses and threatens to find me if I leave. What can I legally do about this? I'm scared of what will happen if I do leave. She believes that the Ohio law states that she is legally bound and responsible for me until the ages of 21-26, but is that true?

    Leave a comment:


  • ccsmod6
    commented on Guest's reply
    Hi there,
    Thank you for writing to us here at National Runaway Safeline (NRS). We understand it takes great courage to reach out, and we appreciate you sharing a little bit about what’s going on. It seems there is a lot that you are faced with right now and you’re feeling like leaving is one of your only options. It seems you want to know some information on runaway laws.
    While we are not experts on the law, 18 is generally the age that an individual may leave home without parent permission. If you are under 18 and leave home, your parent/guardian may file you as a runaway and you may be returned home. Also, those you stay with may run the risk of being charged with harboring a runaway. For more specifics on the law, the local non-emergency police or legal aid may better answer legal questions. Because you live in Puerto Rico and we are not legal experts nor have much information on where you stay, reaching out to your non-emergency police or court system to confirm this information may be very beneficial just to confirm.
    We are here as support to help through this challenging time. We can best help by phone or chat as NRS is unable to respond more than twice by email to assist you. If you would like to talk more in detail please call or chat soon.
    Our contact information is 1-800-RUNAWAY (786-2929); www.1800runaway.org (click on the chat button).
    If you are at risk of any danger or feeling unsafe, we encourage you to reach out to 911 or seek emergency assistance immediately.
    Be safe,
    NRS

  • Guest's Avatar
    Guest replied
    I live in Puerto Rico and I’m 18 years old , is it legal for me to move out of my parents house without their permission?

    Leave a comment:


  • ccsmod10
    commented on Guest's reply
    Hi there,

    Thanks for reaching out to NRS!

    We are always here to listen and here to help in any way that we can. It can be very frustrating not knowing what to do or what your next step might be from this point on. It’s brave of you to reach out during your time of need.

    There must be a lot going on at home if you're wanting to leave, we're here to talk. Once you turn 18 you're considered a legal adults in most states (other than Alabama, Mississippi, and Nebraska). Once you turn 18, you can to leave your home and not be considered a runaway. Your parents can’t stop you from moving out.

    Our safeline is open 24/7. We also have a chatting service via our website, unfortunately, it is not always open. The best way to contact us would be to call in and talk with our trained liners.

    Be well, NRS

  • Guest's Avatar
    Guest replied
    i going to turn 18 can my parent call the cop if i want to leave?

    Leave a comment:


  • ccsmod2
    commented on Guest's reply
    Thank you for reaching out to us here at National Runaway Safeline. We understand that it takes courage to seek help. It sounds like you are thinking about leaving home. In the state of Alabama, a person must be 19 before they can leave home without parental consent. You could try asking your parents if they would allow you to leave. Here at NRS, we offer conference calls between youth and their parents. This could be an opportunity for you to discuss to your parents how you feel with the help of an NRS worker. Another option that you have is contacting your local police department to ask about their runaway policy. If you parents decide to file a missing person report, you could call the police and let them know you are safe. We hope that this information helps, please feel free to contact us directly via our 24 hour crisis hotline (1-800-786-2929), email, or live chat if you have any other questions or just want to talk.

  • Guest's Avatar
    Guest replied
    I'm 18 and i live in Alabama, I'm thinking about getting out of the house and I have a place to go. But I'm worried about how to tell my mom and dad about it and are they able to file a missing report? If I dont tell them

    Leave a comment:


  • ccsmod11
    commented on Guest's reply
    Thanks for reaching out. We are so sorry you’re going through this.

    We are not legal experts, but no, she cannot. You are 18 and no longer under guardianship. So she cannot file a missing child report.

    No one can call the cops on someone for no reason. There has to be a crime of some kind. And no one can take someone else’s belongings. That is theft.

    It sounds like you’re dealing with a really tough situation. Sometimes a support network can help you get through it. Consider if you have friends or other relatives you can reach out to who can trust your side of the story, or who you could even stay with.

    Everyone deserves to be in a safe and supportive environment. Feel free to call us if you’d like to talk through this situation further.

  • Guest's Avatar
    Guest replied
    I live in buffalo ny can my mom call the cops on me and take and or keep my belongings for her self and can she file a missing child report i am 18

    Leave a comment:


  • ccsmod7
    commented on Guest's reply
    Hello there, thank you so much for reaching out. Sounds like you have been through more than anyone else should have to go through and we so admire your bravery. It looks like you also reached out over email. Please see our email and call or chat us if you have any other questions or needs support.

    We are concerned for your safety and we truly want to help. We hope to hear from you soon,

    NRS

  • Guest's Avatar
    Guest replied
    My family has left me to die they left a note saying that they are sorry they say in the note that they wish things could be better if they tried they feel this should be the better option then abusing me and leaving me to suffer do you think this is ok? do I just get help? should I just keep trying to live on like nothing has happened? I feel like I have done everything I have gone to every place to get help but nothing worked. I am a foster kid who lost everything and I have lost my birth parents to one car accident and that was my dad I lost for my birth mom I lost her when I was younger but I still remember her death until this day she got stabbed by my older brother who said it's my fault for being born. How old am I? I am 17 years old. please I need someone who can help or something to get past this thank you
    Last edited by ccsmod7; 06-11-2018, 12:00 PM. Reason: identifying information

    Leave a comment:


  • ccsmod10
    commented on Guest's reply
    Hello there, thanks for reaching out.

    In most states, the legal age you become an adult also known as the majority age is 18. However there are a few states with older majority ages such as Mississippi, Nebraska, and Alabama. To make sure that you can legally leave at 18, you might look up your current state's majority age. You want to look up the majority age in the state you are currently in, the state where your parents would attempt attempt to contact to the police to list you as a runaway. If your state's majority age is 18, you cannot be forced to return home after leaving regardless if you leave the state or not. If you are considered a legal adult, police will not take a runaway report for you and you have the right to live on your own. You might leave a note or contact your parents without letting them know where you are to tell them that you are safe, just so they do not think you have been abducted or something bad has happened to you and try to report you as a missing person.

    Please do not hesitate to call or chat if you have additional questions or if you need any support. We are here 24/7.

    Best, NRS
Previously entered content was automatically saved. Restore or Discard.
Auto-Saved
x
Insert: Thumbnail Small Medium Large Fullsize Remove  
x
x
Working...
X